Two African Authors selected for 2020 Booker Prize

Book News 01

Two (2) African authors, Maaza Mengiste from Ethiopia and Tsitsi Dangaremgba from Zimbabwe have been selected for the 2020 Booker Prize Longlist. The longlist for The 2020 Booker Prize was announced on Tuesday 28 July 2020. This year’s longlist consists of thirteen (13) amazing books.

Maaza Mengiste novel The shadow King as well as Tsitsi Dangaremgba stunning novel This Mournable Body made Africa proud as they represented the continent in the 2020 Longlist.

The Shadow King is a gripping novel set during Mussolini’s 1935 invasion of Ethiopia, The novel takes us back to the first real conflict of World War II, casting light on the women soldiers who were left out of the historical record.

Dangarembga’s searing novel explores the obstacles facing women in Zimbabwe. The novel that culminates in an act of betrayal, revealing just how toxic the combination of colonialism and capitalism can be.

This year’s longlist of 13 books was selected by a panel of five judges: Margret Busby (chair), editor, literary critic and former publisher Lee Childauthor, Sameer Rahimauthor and critic; Lemn Sissaywriter and broadcasterand Emily Wilsonclassicist and translator.

The full longlist is:

  • Diane Cook, “The New Wilderness”
  • Tsitsi Dangarembga, “This Mournable Body”
  • Avni Doshi, “Burnt Sugar”
  • Gabriel Krauze, “Who They Was”
  • Hilary Mantel, “The Mirror and the Light”
  • Colum McCann, “Apeirogon”
  • Maaza Mengiste, “The Shadow King”
  • Kiley Reid, “Such a Fun Age”
  • Brandon Taylor, “Real Life”
  • Anne Tyler, “Redhead by the Side of the Road”
  • Douglas Stuart, “Shuggie Bain”
  • Sophie Ward, “Love and Other Thought Experiments”
  • C Pam Zhang, “How Much of These Hills Is Gold”

Written by Abena Maryann

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>